HMAA Laurels 2016

hmaa laurels logo 2016b

“It’s our time to shine”

The HMAA Laurel Awards recognise writers, photographers, educators, researchers, and broadcasters who have demonstrated exceptional creativity in communicating the benefits and joys of gardening to the community.

The 2016 Laurel Awards have been completely revamped to reflect the changing media landscape. In the 21st century, it doesn’t matter whether your words exist on a piece of paper or a file in the cloud; it doesn’t matter whether you worked for a TV station or shot your own YouTube video on a phone.

What matters is what you have to say and how you say it.

We write, we talk and we present to entertain and educate people of all ages about the joys and benefits of gardening. This is our craft! So, the 2016 HMAA Laurels are unashamedly craft based. The judging process too has been under the spotlight, with the result that this year all judging has been undertaken by media and horticultural professionals who are NOT members of HMAA.

The 2016 Laurel Awards Dinner was held at The Royal Melbourne Hotel (formerly the Bourke Street West Police Station in another century) on Tuesday, March 15 – MIFGS Eve. Some 130 HMAA members, guests and friends enjoyed an informal evening in this historic and atmospheric venue.  The evening’s MC was Pam Vardy and the event was organised by the HMA Victoria committee.

The photo gallery of this year’s years can be viewed at

The 2016 HMAA Honour Laurel Award winners

Gold Laurel and Hall of Fame

The Gold Laurel, awarded to an HMAA member who has made a sustained and significant contribution to communicating the joys and benefits of gardening to the general public over a significant period of time, is the highest accolade the association bestows in its biennial awards program.  Each State HMA nominates candidates, with the winner being selected by the National Committee of HMAA.

This year’s winner is leading gardening media personality Jane Edmanson OAM.
Read the citation.

The Anita Boucher Outstanding Achievement Laurel

This award is named in honour of Anita Boucher who, throughout her horticultural media career, wrote with great professionalism and edited a number of industry magazines to the highest standard. It recognises professionalism and talent in raising the standards of horticultural journalism.

This year, there are two winners of this Laurel, WA’s John Colwill and NSW’s Catherine Stewart.
Read John’s citation     Read Catherine’s citation

For a complete list of all 2016 Laurel Award winners, please click here.